Everything You Need to Know

downtown baltimore maryland skyline

DenisTangneyJrGetty Images

Maryland auto insurance laws require that you carry 30/60/15 bodily injury, as well as 30/60 uninsured coverage. You may decide to buy additional coverage and knowing how to save can get you the best rates possible.

Maryland Auto Insurance Laws

Maryland auto insurance laws require all drivers to carry a minimum level of coverage. This includes:

  • $30000 bodily injury liability per person
  • $60000 bodily injury liability per accident
  • $15000 property damages
  • $2500 personal injury protection
  • $30000 uninsured coverage per person
  • $60000 uninsured coverage per accident

    Drivers do have the option of forgoing the personal injury protection (PIP). If you want to opt out of PIP, then you will need to submit a notification in writing to your insurance company.

    These minimum requirements don’t pay for your medical bills or damages if you’re in an accident. Instead, they cover any damages you might cause to others in an auto accident. Bodily injury covers up to $30000 per person and $60000 per accident of other drivers and their passenger’s medical bills and lost wages. Property damages cover up to $15000 total in damages that you cause to someone else due to an accident. Uninsured coverage pays for your medical bills and damages if you are in an accident with a driver who is at fault, but who does not have any car insurance.

    Consequences of Driving Insurance in Maryland

    Driving without insurance in Maryland is illegal. According to the Zebra, can lead to the following consequences:

    • $150 fine for up to 30 days and $7 for each additional day, up to a maximum of $2500.
    • A suspended driver’s license
    • Your case can be referred to the Central Collections Unit and fines are subject to a 17 percent collection fee.

      According to the Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration, the state even has the right to garnish income if you still don’t pay fines. You are also required to have proof of insurance whenever driving a vehicle. Maryland does allow you to show proof of insurance on your phone so download your provider’s app ahead of time.

      Optional Insurance to Consider in Maryland

      Bodily liability is the minimum insurance required in Maryland. Some drivers may choose to buy additional types of coverage, including:

      • Comprehensive: Comprehensive is a part of full coverage that covers other damages to your vehicle, like wind, rain, flooding, or theft.
      • Collision: Collision covers damages to your vehicle, regardless of who is at fault. It is also a part of full coverage and usually comes with a deductible.
      • Loan/lease payoff: Loan/lease payoff will cover any cost leftover on your vehicle after it is totaled.
      • Rental car: You may need a rental car while you wait for repairs or replacement. This coverage pays for rental car costs.
      • Roadside assistance: Roadside assistance pays for towing or other costs related to roadside services.
      • Medical payments: Also known as MedPay, medical payments cover your medical bills following an accident. Depending on your health insurance policy, you may not need this coverage.

        Many of these optional coverages require a deductible. This is an amount of money that you will have to pay out-of-pocket before the insurance company pays the rest. You usually have some control over your deductible. The higher the deductible that you choose, the lower your monthly payments. You might choose a lower deductible, but then you can expect higher monthly rates.

        Factors That Affect Your Maryland Insurance Rates

        It can be helpful to know what factors go into calculating your Maryland auto insurance rates. Insurance rates are regulated by the Maryland Insurance Administration and they allow providers to consider the following factors:

        • The type and make of vehicle you drive
        • If you have had long-term coverage
        • The number of miles you drive
        • Your driving record
        • Your age
        • Your gender
        • Your marital status
        • Your location
        • Your driving experience
        • If you drive for personal or business purposes

          Insurance companies not only consider each of these factors for the primary driver on the policy but also any additional drivers. However, having other drivers in your household on your policy may also qualify you for a multi-vehicle discount.

          How to Save on Insurance in Maryland

          Maryland has one of the most inclusive insurance requirements in the U.S. They require uninsured coverage, which a lot of other states don’t. However, even when following the minimum Maryland auto insurance laws, you may still want additional coverage. If you’re in a severe car accident, your damages or the other driver’s can exceed the maximum amounts. If you’re worried about the cost of adding on additional coverage, there are a few good ways to save, including:

          • Shop around: Never accept the first insurance quote you receive. Shopping around allows you to consider the level of coverage that you need, at a price that you’re comfortable with.
          • Request information on discounts: If you are a good driver or you have been with your insurance provider for a long time, you may be eligible for discounts. Always ask about any available discounts.
          • Adjust your insurance coverage: Maryland law requires that you carry their minimum requirements, but you can choose your level of insurance beyond that which can affect your rates.
          • Bundle your insurance policies: If you have any other insurance policies, like homeowner’s or renter’s, you may be able to bundle them together for a discount.
          • Take a defensive driving course: Some insurance companies allow policyholders to take a defensive driving course in return for discounts.
          • Avoid any traffic violations: Your driving record is a significant part of how much you pay for insurance. Avoid speeding or running red lights to maintain an affordable insurance policy rate.

            You should evaluate your insurance policy regularly. If your insurance needs change, such as if you add another vehicle or pay off a loan, then it may be time to compare prices among different providers.

            When you drive a vehicle in Maryland, you agree to follow all Maryland auto insurance laws. These laws dictate the level of insurance you are required to carry.

            Check this out if you need additional information, resources, or guidance on car insurance.

            Sources:

            Maryland Department of Transportation Motor Vehicle Administration | mva.maryland.gov

            Maryland Car Insurance Laws | thezebra.com

            Cheap Car Insurance in Baltimore, Maryland | caranddriver.com

            Average Car Insurance Deductible: Everything You Need to Know | caranddriver.com

            This content is created and maintained by a third party, and imported onto this page to help users provide their email addresses. You may be able to find more information about this and similar content at piano.io

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *