Table of Contents
- Maine Auto Insurance Costs by Insurer
- Maine Auto Insurance Premiums by Driver Age
- Maine Car Insurance Premiums by Gender and Marital Status
- Average Maine Insurance Rates After a Violation or Accident
- Maine Auto Insurance Premiums by Credit Tier
- List of Insurance Companies in Maine
- No-Fault Insurance in Maine Information
Maine Auto Insurance Costs by Insurer
State law in Maine requires all vehicle owners to carry certain auto insurance coverage, including:
- Liability: At-fault driver’s insurance company covers damages and injuries to others.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist.
- Medical payments.
The minimum coverage amounts are:
- $50,000 in bodily injury liability per person.
- $100,000 in bodily injury liability per incident.
- $25,000 in property damage liability per incident.
- $50,000 in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per person.
- $100,000 in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage per incident.
- $2000 in medical payments coverage.
Maine Auto Insurance Premiums by Driver Age
Your age is a factor in what you will pay for car insurance in Maine. Drivers between the ages of 20 and 29 pay the highest premiums, so comparing quotes is the best way to get an affordable rate. NerdWallet reports the companies offering the most affordable full-coverage policies for those between 20 and 29 years of age include:
- GEICO: $1132 annually.
- Concord Group: $1158 annually.
- Countryway: $1292 annually.
- State Farm: $1964 annually.
- MetLife: $2472 annually.
For minimum coverage policies, The Zebra data shows that the cheapest companies for drivers in their 20s in Maine include:
- GEICO: $387 annually.
- Concord Group: $497 annually.
- Countryway: $620 annually.
- State Farm: $782 annually.
- Vermont Mutual: $900 annually.
When a driver reaches the age of 30, their rates will typically go down. Additional factors that impact rates include age, vehicle make and model, and driving record. Discounts are available to buyers who shop around and compare options.
Maine Car Insurance Premiums by Gender and Marital Status
Finding the best deal on auto insurance in Maine can be difficult, as the rates vary depending on your location, driving record, gender, age, and other factors. Certain companies also place more value on specific factors, so shopping around is worthwhile.
Married drivers can typically qualify for lower rates than single drivers. In Maine, a married driver pays an average of $98 less per year than a single driver. ValuePenguin reports that Concord Group offers the lowest prices for married drivers, with an average premium of $852 per year. The statewide average cost is $1188 per year. Additional companies offering affordable rates to married individuals include:
- GEICO: $934 per year.
- State Farm: $1049 per year.
Average Maine Insurance Rates After a Violation or Accident
Your driving record impacts what you pay for car insurance in Maine. If you have received a traffic violation citation or DUI, or you are at-fault in an accident, your rates will go up. Compare.com outlined the cheapest companies in Maine for drivers with specific violations or accidents:
- At-fault accident: State Farm.
- One speeding ticket: GEICO.
- DUI/DWI: State Farm.
- Poor credit history: GEICO.
Getting a speeding ticket will have a similar effect on your car insurance rates as being involved in an accident. In the state of Maine, a speeding ticket causes an average increase of $319 per year. WalletHub reports that GEICO offers the most affordable rates to those with speeding tickets on their records, charging an average of $1089 per year. The overall average across all insurers in the state is $1605 per year.
If you have multiple risk factors, such as being in your 20s and having an at-fault accident on your record, on average you can expect to pay:
- $478 per year (GEICO).
- $733 per year (Concord Group).
- $916 per year (Countryway).
- $969 per year (Vermont Mutual).
- $1010 per year (State Farm).
If you get a DUI, your premiums can increase by an average of 75 percent or more. State Farm offers the most affordable coverage to those with a DUI on their recording, charging an average of $1154 per year. Other insurers charge $1741 (Concord Group) and $1933 (Progressive), with the statewide average coming in at $2172 per year.
Some of the cheapest insurance companies in Maine for younger drivers with a DUI on their record include GEICO at $672 per year, Countryway at $757 per year, Concord Group at $834 per year, Vermont Mutual at $900 per year, and Progressive at $1028 per year. These policies would include state-mandated minimum coverage.
Maine Auto Insurance Premiums by Credit Tier
Your credit is another significant factor in what your auto insurance will cost. Maine drivers with low credit scores can generally get the cheapest rates from GEICO, which charges approximately $1089 per year. The statewide average for drivers with poor credit is $1760, while Concord Group charges an average of $1132 and Progressive charges an average of $1807.
Drivers in their 20s who have poor credit may want to consider GEICO, which charges an average of $664 per year for minimum coverage. Other affordable companies for those with both of these risk factors include Concord Group at $725 per year, Countryway at $884 per year, Allstate at $1,41 per year, and Progressive at $1427 per year.
List of Insurance Companies in Maine
Many of the major auto insurance companies offer coverage to drivers in the state of Maine. Some of these companies include GEICO, Concord Group, MMG Insurance, USAA, Countryway Insurance, Travelers, Patriot Insurance, Progressive, Vermont Mutual, Metropolitan, Allstate, and State Farm.
No-Fault Insurance in Maine Information
Like nearly all states, Maine requires drivers to carry a certain level of insurance coverage. Some of the main coverage options include comprehensive and collision, which cover the damages incurred in a collision, natural disaster, or act of vandalism, regardless of who is at fault.
Maine actually has some of the highest liability requirements in the nation, and many drivers still elect for coverage limits that are higher than the state-mandated minimums. If you are at fault in a collision, the damages caused to other vehicles and individuals could exceed the amounts legally required by the state. When comparing quotes and coverage options, you may want to consider including comprehensive and collision coverage as well as limits that are higher than what Maine requires.
This content is created and maintained by a third party, and imported onto this page to help users provide their email addresses. You may be able to find more information about this and similar content at piano.io